HOME > ADVANCE > Leadership Team

Leadership Team

Our Team:

The ADVANCE Leadership Team is currently being reconstituted.  For the time being, the following individuals are serving as a temporary leadership team:

Cynthia Werner
Director of ADVANCE

Blanca Lupiani
Dean of Faculties and Associate Provost

Robin Means Coleman
Vice-President for Diversity and Associate Provost for Diversity


Susan Burton

Program Coordinator


Vansa Shewakramani Hanson

Graduate Assistant Research


Elizabeth Jenkins

Graduate Assistant Research

Past Leaders:

The individuals listed below served on the ADVANCE Leadership Team during the initial years of ADVANCE (2010-2017). These individuals played the key roles listed below during that time period, and many of them continue to be involved with ADVANCE programs, activities, and research.

Robin Autenreith
Department Head of Civil Engineering
Co-PI and Chair of ADVANCE Recruitment and Retention

Michael Benedik
Co-Chair of ADVANCE Success Enhancement Initiatives

Mindy Bergman
Director of Interdisciplinary Critical Studies and Professor of Psychology
Chair of the STRIDE Committee and Member of the ADVANCE Social Science Studies Team

Chris Kaunas
Executive Director for Interprofessional Education & Research
Program Director of the ADVANCE Center

Stephanie Payne
Professor of Psychology
Co-PI and Co-Team Leader of ADVANCE Social Science Studies

Mary Jo Richardson
Regents Professor of Oceanography
Co-Chair of ADVANCE Climate Change Initiatives

Dorothy Shippen
Professor and Interim Department Head
Co-Chair of ADVANCE Success Enhancement Initiatives

Christine Stanley
Professor of Educational Administration and Human Resource Development
Co-PI and Co-Chair of ADVANCE Climate Change Initiatives

Linda Stelly
ADVANCE Program Coordinator

Lori Taylor
Professor and Head of Public Service and Administration Development
Co-Investigator and ADVANCE Evaluation Team Leader

Jyotsna Vaid
Professor of Psychology
ADVANCE Center Leadership Team Member and Advisor for ADVANCE Scholars Program

Karan Watson
Regents Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Co-Principal Investigator for ADVANCE Grant

Sherry Yennello
Professor of Chemistry
Principal Investigator for ADVANCE Grant