HOME > Announcements


Dr. Heather Wilkinson Appointed Associate Dean of Faculties for Faculty Development

Mar 09,17

Sent on behalf of Dr. John August, dean of faculties and associate provost

I am pleased to announce that Dr. Heather Wilkinson, professor and associate head in the Department of Plant Pathology and Microbiology, has accepted the position of associate dean of faculties for faculty development, effective March 20, 2017. 

Dr. Wilkinson was one of the finalists recommended to me following an internal search process.  I want to thank the members of the search committee for their diligence in reviewing candidates for this position as well as all of the applicants who offered their leadership to our university.

As associate dean of faculties for faculty development, Dr. Wilkinson will work closely with the dean of faculties and the executive associate dean of faculties to advance the university’s goals in faculty development with special emphasis on teaching, mentoring, and other activities that elevate and promote faculty growth. In addition, she will have primary responsibility for overseeing the operations and management of the Center for Teaching Excellence and Instructional Technology Services.

Dr. Wilkinson earned her Ph.D. from the State University of New York ‒ Binghamton and completed her Master of Arts in Teaching with emphasis in Science Education from Boston University.  She joined the faculty of Texas A&M in 1999 and was promoted to full professor in 2014. She has served as associate head of the Department of Pathology and Microbiology since 2014.

During her career at Texas, Dr. Wilkinson has served her department and the university in a variety of roles and on numerous committees. Most notably she has served as a Posse Faculty Mentor for four years and as a member of the Council of Principal Investigators since 2011. She has received The Association of Former Students Distinguished Achievement college-level teaching award and served as a faculty fellow with the Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President, an ADVANCE Administrative Fellow, and a College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Critical Thinking Fellow.

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Wilkinson on her appointment.


Call for Nominations: 2016-2017 AFS Distinguished Achievement College-Level Teaching Award

Mar 09,17

Each year The Association of Former Students generously makes funds available to each college to fund the Distinguished Achievement College-Level Teaching Awards. These awards honor outstanding faculty members for their dedication to teaching. Since the program's inception in 1982, recipients have been recognized for their talent, expertise and devotion on conveying knowledge to students. The Office of the Dean of Faculties and Associate Provost issues the award guidelines, while the award selection process is managed at the college level.

The 2016-2017 guidelines are attached to this email, and can also be found on the Office of the Dean of Faculties website.

Please initiate the process of calling for nominations and selecting the awardees and forward us the names of the award winners no later than noon on Wednesday June 28, 2017.

Please note that the date, time, and location of each College-Level Award recognition ceremony are due before noon on Tuesday, August 1, 2017.

The names of award recipients and the award ceremony information should be sent to Sandra Harnden at awardsprograms@tamu.edu  by the deadlines above.

If you have any questions, please contact Sandra Harnden at (979) 845-4274.